LitSnap - Fiction and NonFiction Book Reviews

Buy Now - Kindle or Print
Add To Wishlist - Kindle or Print

No book cover found

History of A Pleasure Seeker by Richard Mason.. Accomplished draughtsman (Brit), pianist (and pianist like they don’t pronounce it on the radio), Piet is quite the tutor. Mason’s picaresque is brimming with poetic sex writing, and it’s otherwise accomplished.

Joel Gardner, LitSnap Editor

"While The Drowning People – written when Mason was just 18 – has a dedicated following, subsequent novels failed to wow. His latest feels like a make-or-break moment. It was always clear that he knew how to write a beautiful sentence, but one feared that Mason's literary legacy might be defined by the numbers on his advance cheque rather than the letters on his pages."

The Guardian

"Mason tells his story with humour, charm, fine attention to detail and a healthy dose of eroticism. Much of the dialogue is sparkling and there are scenes which remind you why Mason was considered such an explosive talent at 19."

The Independent

Author bio: RICHARD MASON was born in South Africa in 1978 and lives in New York City. His first novel, The Drowning People, published when he was twenty-one and still a student at Oxford, sold more than a million copies worldwide and won Italy’s Grinzane Cavour Prize for Best First Novel. He is also the author of Natural Elements, which was chosen by The Washington Post as one of the best books of 2009 and longlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award and the Sunday Times Literary Award. History of a Pleasure Seeker is his fourth novel. In 1999, with Nobel Laureate Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Mason started the Kay Mason Foundation (, which helps disadvantaged South Africans receive quality education. Mason received the Inyathelo Merit Award for Philanthropy in 2010. More information can be found here:

Book Details: General Fiction; (288 pp. Linguistic twister: Kindle/Print editions)

Publisher Website:

© 2011 LitSnap LLC